About the Declaration

Birth of an ambitious project

  • At the occasion of the IAS 2017 in Paris, the local civil society organizations were solicited by the IAS 2017 Community Engagement Board about their projects for the Civil Society visibility during the event.
  • Quite quickly, the idea of organizing a Key Populations Symposium has been decided, and also to use that event to launch a « Paris Community Declaration« , as a reminder of the Paris Declaration of 2003.
  • Its main objective was to renew the Denver Principles and the GIPA Principles (« Nothing about us, Without Us ») and to extend them to all Key Affected Populations, living with or affected by HIV, integrating by the way the new outcomes of the fight against HIV/AIDS that are PrEP and TasP.

Our method

  • Following the Delphi method (used in social sciences to obtain a consensus between several actors), the Declaration has been constructed internationally by 80 activists from all over the world and different networks, communities and Key Populations.
  • The participants were divided into two groups :
    • A Steering Committee composed of 18 participants in charge of redacting proposals of demands, and submit them to the Experts Panel.
    • An Experts Panel composed of more than 60 participants in charge of quoting and commenting by an internet survey each proposal from the Steering Committee.
  • This process has been repeated until the maximum consensus has been reached.


List of the Declaration Steering Committee’s members :

Apostolos Kalogianis, Greece, EATG / PRAKSIS
Bruce Richman, USA, Prevention Access (U=U campaign)
Carlos Idibouo, Ivory Coast / Canada, GMT+
Caroline Andoum, France, Raac-Sida
Christian Hui, Canada, CPPN /GNP+ NA / OPA+ / Committee for Accessible AIDS Treatment
Evgenia Maron, Russia / France, EECA Sex workers’ Alliance
Florence Thune, France, Sidaction
Girmay Assemahegn, Norway,  Aksept / HivPLuss
Johny Tohme, USA, MSMGF
Koen Block, Belgium, EATG
Maureen Ndawana, UK, African Health Policy Network
Maurine Murenga, Kenya, ICW
Micheal Ighodaro, USA, AVAC / MSMGF / AMSHeR / ICARH / GMT+
Miriam Edwards, Guyana, Caribeean Sex Work Coalition
Owen Mulenga, Zambia, TALC
Raissa Coulibali, Belgium, Whyme / ASBL
Tariro Kutadza, Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe National Network of PLWHIV
Trevor Stratton, Canada, CAAN / IIHAC / IIWGHA

Declaration Project Coordinators :

Nathan Boumendil, France, AIDES
Florence Thune, France, Sidaction


Local civil society organizations :


Le Comité des Familles